Website Wim Kusee : Tram lines in Belgium (NMVB) 

(click on a foto to close)

Today

Introduction

Today, there is only a small remain left about the large network of the NMVB. One line all along the coast of Belgium from Knokke in the north east via Oostende to De Panne in the south west. And another line in the environment op Charleroi. Since about 1990 the name has changed. Today the name is "De Lijn" in the north and TEC in the south. These companies not only do the operation of lines with trams and busses of the rural environment of Belgium, but also the operation of the city trams and busses in Gent, Antwerp, Liège and several other towns.

On this subpage we only look at the remains of the tram-lines of the NMVB; for information about the tram in Gent and Antwerp (and in Brussel) there are several other pages.

[ Coastal line ] [ Around Charleroi ] [ Han sur Lesse ]

modern tram  
network coastal lines

Coastal line

One of the remains of the NMVB is the line along the Belgian coast.
The line is split into the following two lines:

  • Oostende - Knokke
  • Oostende - Adinkerke

Both lines are operated as one group of lines. In special in the summer time this line is heavily used by tourists and people enjoying of the beach.

Click on the button below to see more fotos of the 'kustlijn', the coastal line

click herer for

fotos coastal line

Below you find some fotos of the todays tramline of the coast line.

(click on an image to see a larger foto)

tram of the coastal line (postcard)

tram in Westende

tram in Knokke

tram in Knokke
[ top ]
network around charleroi

Around Charleroi

The other remains of a large network exists around the city of Charleroi.

Around the years 1980-1990 this network was replaced by so-called "pre-metro" system. Some old lines (the line Charleroi - Anderlues and the connection with the railway station Charleroi Sud) were transformed and partly rebuilt. Also some new lines were created (to Gilly and Chatelet). The new line to Chatelet was built, but was never taken in use. Even today this line remains unused. The date of opening of the pre-metro network were:

Line Charleroi-Anderlues Date open
Charleroi Sud - Charleroi Ouest 1976.06.21
Charleroi Ouest - Charleroi Viaduc 1980.06.30
Charleroi Viaduc - Dampremy 1983.05.24
Dampremy - Marchienne 1992.08.23
Marchienne passage 1983.08.28
Marchienne - Fontaine l'Eveque 1983.05.24
 
Line Charleroi-Gilly Date open
Charleroi Viaduc - Beaux-Arts 1983.05.24
Charleroi Beaux-Arts - Waterloo 1992.08.28
Charleroi Waterloo - Gilly 1992.08.28
 
Line Waterloo-Parc Date open
Charleroi Waterloo - Parc 1996.08.30
 
Line Charleroi-Gosselies Date open
Charleroi - Jumet - Gosselies 2013.06.21

There also exists a line from Gilly to Châtelet, which has been built and is almost ready. This situation already exists from about 1992. The line has only been taken into operation in about 2010.

Below you find some fotos of the todays tramline around Charleroi.

(click on an image to see a larger foto)

tram in Charleroi

tram in Charleroi

tram in Gilly (Soleimont)
[ top ]
network lines han sur lesse

Han sur Lesse

One of the remains of the NMVB is the line from the village of Han-sur-Lesse to the entrance of the grottes. The line is used only in one direction. Visitors of the grotte go with the tram from the village, around a hill to the entrance. The exit of the grotte is just near the village, so people walk back from the exit to the village.

There are 6 motor carriages:

The line was opened in 1906 and from then on run by steam trams. It was a side track of the line Rochefort - Wellin. In 1934 tractors replaced the steam locomtives. In 1957 the upper station (near the entrance of the grottes) was replaced by a halt about 300 meters before the end of the line. This situation lasted until 1968, when over several hundred of meters the line was replaced to a lower place of the slope of the hill. This because from the old station people had to walk seversl 100 meters, and from the intermediate halt, people had to descend over a steep path through the woods to the entrance of the station. The new halt is situated just at the entrance of the grotte. The line from Han-sur-Lesse to the Grotte is still in use today.

  • ART89 (built in 1934 of the series 83-112)
    It served several depots and groupes. In 1995 it was brought to the line in Han
  • ART90 (built in 1934 of the series 83-112)
    In 1949 rebuilt as ART90. It served several lines all over Belgium: Wavre-Jodoigne (1934-1949), Leuven (1950-1956), Jodoigne (1956-1958), Tienen (1958-1962, Brussel (1962-1977) and at last Han (1977 until now)
  • AR145 (built in 1935 of the series 128-152)
    It served all of its life the groupe de Wellin and the line from Han to the grottes.
  • AR159 (built in 1935 of the series 159-183)
    It was in use in Turnhout until 1951, then Rochefort - Wellin-Graide, and from 1956 the line in Han
  • AR168 (built in 1935 of the series 159-183)
    It served Corrière - Ben-Ahin, from 1937-1951 Antwerpen-Lier, from 1951-1952 Brasschaat-Wuustwezel, from 1952-1956 Rochefort-Wellin-Graide, and form 1956 the line in Han.
  • AR266 (built in 1938 of the series 259-282)
    It served the line Clavier-Val-St.Lambert until 1949, then Lens-Soignies and Tournai, from 1954 around Brussel, from 1962-1966 in the museum Schepdaal, and from 1966 the line in Han.

From 2014 on the dieselmotor has been replaced by an electric motor. This is the cas with AR145 (in 2014), AR266 (in 2015) and 2016 (AR89, AR159).

There are several passenger carriages. They have been newly built just around the year 2000. They are in the style of the old "baladeuses", open carriages that were used earlier. In busy times one tractor pulls three carriages.

[ top ]

Below you find some fotos of the todays tramline of the tram line in Han-sur-Lesse.

(click on an image to see a larger foto)

The departure place in the village of Han-sur-Lesse, situated in a sharp curve.

A balladeuse, open carriage, ready to take passengers, standing in Han-sur-Lesse.

People walking from the central building to the tram

The tram at the intermediate stop near the entrance of the grottes.

The Vicinal Coupling of AR159 and one of the balladeuses.

The cable of the electrical power supply that charges the trams batteries.

The driving place in front of AR159.

The Tivoli house. Today a restaurant, until 1957 it was the end station of the tram near the entrance of the grottes.
[ top ]

This webpage is part of
the websites of Wim Kusee